Our Flash Fiction competition has received an excellent response this year - with over 300 entries, the shortlisting process has been even tougher than usual.

Judge Roshi Fernando, author of Homesick, said of the entries: 'I found the shortlisting very difficult and had to say goodbye to many stories that had made me laugh or stood out because they were unique and so nearly perfect - but not quite. The quality of most of the stories was excellent - outstanding, I would say.'

So, if you haven't made the shortlist, don't be disheartened - the competition has been extremely tough.

Unfortunately, there can only be one winner; listed below are those in the running for the prizes. 

Amy Mackelden - Scrap Metal

Hilary McGrath - Trumpet Dreams

Carlie Lee - Transcription 8B - Case XXX

Iseult Murphy - Puppet Polly

Jane Roberts - Silent Space

Leslie Saul - Untitled

Nicola Robinsonova - Prick

Megan Burrows - Those Left, Grow Old

James Ryan - Last Train Through To Grey-Wood & Dying-Light

Jonathan Kelly - The End Before The Beginning

The winner and two runners-up will be announced on the website on Monday 15th April.